The Town of Levuka, pop. 2000, is situated on the eastern side of the Island of Ovalau, a mountainous and volcanic island.  The town was "formed" in the 1830s, as a whaling settlement and by the 1850s-70s was a reckless and rowdy centre, attracting every unsavoury character under the sun.

On the 10th October 1874, Ratu Cakobau, along with a number of high-ranking Fijian Chiefs ceded Fiji to Queen Victoria of Great Britain. This historic event took place at Nasova. 3 boulders with plaques now mark the site. The first laid in 1935, to commemorate the signing of the Deed of Cession on the 10th October 1874. The other 2 boulders commemorate, Fiji's independence, 1970, and the Centenary of the Deed of Cession in 1974.

In 1882, due to its mountainous backdrop, the capital was officially moved to Suva and Levuka's importance dwindled as trade and business also shifted. In 1989 Levuka was designated a historic town and has recently been nominated for World Heritage listing.

Today, Levuka retains a unique ambience, which continues to attract travellers and explorers from around the world. Walking through Levuka's streets, you can discover for yourself the town's charm and character through the historic buildings, churches and monuments that dot this unique town.

        Ovalau Club                                            Levuka Police                                                Catholic Church

                                                                            Saint Johns College

           Nuikabe Hill Monument.                    Mission Hill (199 Steps)                      Levuka Public School